Your SEO optimized title

Hebrew University

The Hebrew University of Jerusalem is the most important institution of higher learning in Israel. In Hebrew it is called Ha-Universita Ha-Ivrit Bi-Yerushalayim.

This important university was founded by Lord Balfour on the April 1, 1925 on top of Mount Scopus and its first Board of Governors included Chaim Weizmann, years later the first President of the State of Israel, Martin Buber, Albert Einstein, Sigmund Freud, Chaim Nachman Bialik, Cyrus Adler, Yehuda Magnes, Achad Haam and Rabbi Abraham Kook.

Aerial view of Hebrew University on Mount Scopus Jerusalem

Aerial view of the University on Mount Scopus Jerusalem

Their Vision

Their vision was to create an internationally respected academic institution which would serve as the country’s leading educational establishment provide the Jewish people with the cultural, spiritual and intellectual resource of their heritage, and facilitate the training of new generations of scientists, philosophers, statesmen, teachers, agriculturalists and business entrepreneurs for the developing needs of a new nation that was created two decades later.

During the years 1948 when the State was founded until 1967 when Jerusalem was reunited, the Mt Scopus campus was in Jordanian Territory. After the Six Day War it was reopened for full operation.

Entrance to the Faculty of Agriculture in Rehovot

Entrance to the Faculty of Agriculture in Rehovot

Four Campuses

It operates three campuses in Jerusalem and one in Rehovot. In Jerusalem the campuses are in Mt Scopus where it all started, Givat Ram, near the Knesset and Israel Museum Jerusalem and the School of Medicine as part of Hadassah Medical Center in Ein Kerem. On more campus operates in Rehovot, the School of Agriculture.

It has faculties of humanities, science, social sciences, law, agriculture, dental medicine, and medicine, and schools of education, social work, pharmacy, home economics, and applied science and technology and a graduate library school.


Graduation at the Computer Science Faculty

Graduation at the Computer Science Faculty

The following are the faculties and Schools of the University 

  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Law
  • The Faculty of Mathematics and Sciences
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Dental Medicine
  • Faculties of Agriculture, Food and Environment.
  • Jerusalem School of Business Administration
  • School of Dental Medicine
  • School of Education
  • School of Engineering and Computer Science
  • Rothberg International School
  • Hadassah Medical School
  • Henrietta Szold-Hadassah-Hebrew University School of Nursing
  • School of Nutritional Sciences
  • Hadassah School of Occupational Therapy
  • School of Pharmacy
  • Braun Hadassah School of Public Health and Community Medicine
  • School of Public Policy
  • The Paul Baerwald School of Social Work and Social Welfare
  • Koret School of Veterinary Medicine

Hebrew University

Abraham Harman Science Library

Abraham Harman Science Library

The Libraries

The Jewish National and University Library is the central library of the University as well as serving as the national library of the Jewish people and the State of Israel. Its collections of Hebraica and Judaica are the largest in the world.

As the central and largest library of the Hebrew University, it is also the oldest section of the university. Founded in 1892 as a world center for the preservation of books relating to Jewish thought and culture, it assumed the additional functions of a general university library in 1920.

Some more libraries located on the different campuses

  • Avraham Harman Science Library
  • Mathematics and Computer Science Library
  • Earth Sciences Library
  • Library for Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Bernard G. Segal Law Library Center
  • Library of Archaeology
  • Moses Leavitt Library of Social Work
  • Zalman Aranne Central Education Library
  • Library of the Rothberg International School
  • Muriel and Philip I. Berman National Medical Library
  • Central Library of Agricultural Science
  • Library of the Harry S. Truman Research Institute for the Advancement of Peace

Faculty of Medicine at the Hadassah Medical Center Jerusalem

Faculty of Medicine at the Hadassah Medical Center Jerusalem

The mission of the Hebrew University Jerusalem is to be Israel's first University and a multidisciplinary institution of higher learning and research serving:

Humanity by extending the frontiers of knowledge with its world renowned research

The State of Israel by training its scientific, educational and professional leadership

The Jewish people by preserving and expanding the Jewish cultural, spiritual and intellectual heritage.

For more information visit Hebrew University Website

From Hebrew University go to Jerusalem

Go to Tuchman Israel Guide Home Page

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.

Site Map     About Us    Share your Story    My Blog    Contact Us   
Disclaimer    Privacy Policy

Copyright Tuchman Israel Guide
2015 - 2019